

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Conference

# **Call for Papers**

Smart Hybrid Biosystems | 3 – 5 November 2010 | Paphos | Cyprus









The recent years have witnessed an explosion of research activities in the areas of life sciences, physical sciences **Finance Chair** and engineering with application to medical problems. Such activities require inter-disciplinary collaborations Constantinos Pitris among scientists, engineers, medical researchers, and practitioners to solve complex real world problems. This conference is the premier forum where researchers can present results and innovative solutions for today's health problems at the frontiers of Biomedical Engineering. "Smart Hybrid Biosystems" has been chosen as the **Technical Program Chairs** 

theme for this year's conference. For information see: www.biocas2010.org. The conference is multidisciplinary in nature comprising an eclectic mix of insightful tutorials, and technical sessions. The organization and planning of the conference enables members of our communities to broaden their knowledge in emerging areas of research at the interface of the life sciences and the circuits and systems engineering discipline. This IEEE BioCAS 2010

Conference organizing committee invites papers and proposals for tutorials in: **Bioinformatics** Electronics for brain science

Bioinspired systems Implantable electronics Biomedical imaging technologies and

- Innovative circuits for medical applications
  - Lab-on-chip
- Medical information systems
- Telecare systems
- Wireless technology for medicine biology and the life sciences

**General Chair** 

Julius Georgiou University of Cyprus

University of Cyprus

Wouter A. Serdijn Delft University

Timothy Constandinou Imperial College London

**Publications Chair** 

Timothy Constandinou Imperial College London

#### **Special Session Chairs**

Sandro Carrara EPFL, Switzerland

Andrew Mason

Michigan State University, USA

**Tutorial Chairs** 

Pantelis Georgiou Imperial College London

Jennifer Blain Christen Arizona State University, USA

**Local Coordinator** 

Petros Stratis Dreamscape Conferences The complete 4-page paper (in standard IEEE double-column format), including title, authors' names, affiliations and e-mail addresses, and a short abstract are requested. Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format through www.biocas2010.org, for peer review. Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

#### Authors' Schedule

image processing

Biosignal processing

Biomedical instrumentation

Biosensor devices and interface

Body area networks/body sensor network

**BioMEMS** 

Deadline for submission of papers: 18 June 2010 Notification of paper acceptance: 27 August 2010 Final submission: 17 September 2010

### **Additional Deadlines**

Submission of Tutorial Proposals: 18 June 2010 18 June 2010 Submission of Special Session Proposals:

#### **Sponsors**











## Technical Programme Committee

Alexander Fish, Canada Alistair McEwan, UK Andre van Schaik, Australia Andreas Demosthenous, UK Andreas G. Andreou, USA Andrew Mason, USA Angel Rodriguez-Vazquez, Spain Ching-Hsing (Robin) Luo, China Chris Toumazou, UK Chua-Chin Wang, China Dag T. Wisland, Norway Diego Barrettino, USA Edmund Lam, Hong Kong Elisabetta Chicca, Switzerland Emmanuel M. Drakakis, UK Erik Bruun, Denmark

Esther Rodriguez, UK Eugenio Culurciello, USA Franco Maloberti, Italy Gert Cauwenberghs, USA Giacomo Indiveri, Switzerland Gianluca Setti, Italy Graham A. Jullien, Canada Guoxing Wang, USA Gwee Bah Hwee, Singapore Heinz Köppl, Switzerland Jennifer M. Blain Christen, USA Jie Chen, Canada Jie (George) Yuan, Hong Kong Joseph S. Chang, Singapore Julius Georgiou, Cyprus Karim Oweiss, USA

Khaled N. Salama, Saudi Arabia Marc Cohen, USA Maysam Ghovanloo, USA Milutin Stanacevic, USA Mohamad Sawan, Canada Mona Zaghloul, USA Nitish V. Thakor, USA Orly Yadid-Pecht, Israel Pamela Abshire, USA Pau-Choo (Julia) Chung, China Paul P. Sotiriadis, USA Pedram Mohseni, USA Pedro Julian, Argentina Philipp Häfliger, Norway Rahul Sarpeshkar, USA Ralph Etienne-Cummings, USA

Reid Harrison, USA Rizwan Bashirullah, USA Robert Butera, USA Robert Rieger, China Robert W. Newcomb, USA Roman Genov, Canada Shantanu Chakrabartty, USA Tan Meng Tong, Singapore Timothy G. Constandinou, UK Tor Sverre Lande, Norway Viktor Owall, Sweden Wael Badawy, Canada Wai-Chi Fang, USA Wouter Serdijn, Netherlands Yehia Massoud, USA Yong Lian, Singapore